Skip to content ↓

School Council

School Council

Our school has an active school council with representatives from Year 2 to Year 6. They hold council meetings once every three weeks and take the key points of the meeting back to their own class for feedback and suggestions. The school council meets with Mrs Statham, the Assistant Principal, and on a monthly basis feedback to the staff during a staff meeting. The school council hold their own budget and fundraise throughout the year by engaging the school in different activities from Dress up days to Sponsored Runs. These funds are used support our chosen charity. This year our chosen charity  across the Newman Catholic Collegiate is 'Caritas'. 

The school council also take part in staff interviews to ensure that their voice is represented at all levels across the school.

New school council members are:
Year 2 - Lydia Edwards & Aaron Hickman 
Year 3 - Jenson Shelley & Ruby Minor
Year 4 - Luca Ebrahimi & Aubree Edmondson
Year 5 - Luca Grigore & Esther Trickett
Year 6 - Dominic, Eve, Fraser, Sophia, Olivia Sutton & Justice Jacobs


The Head Boy, Head Girl, Deputy Head Boy and Deputy Head Girl also form part of the school council.


The school elects a Head Boy, Head Girl, Deputy Head Boy and Deputy Head Girl from Year 6 each year. These children assist the Principal at Awards Assemblies, receiving and showing around visitors, Event Evenings and other School Events.

This year the Head Boy is Dominic Johnson and the Head Girl is Eve Meredith.

The Deputy Head Boy is Fraser Wilkinson-Jones and the Deputy Head Girl is Sophia Whitehouse-Farrell.

The school also trains its own playground leaders and these children then form a rota to provide playground friends  and games for all children on the playground at playtimes and lunchtimes.